My “The Messy Middle book” notes

Carles Carrera
8 min readMay 25, 2019

After listening for the second time to the Tim Ferriss podcast with Derek Sivers, I decided to re-start with my book notes I used to write on my previous blog on blogger. It’s something for me, to try to interiorize the book, but at the same time I think can be useful to anyone interested in the book and the topics discussed in it.

I have to start saying that this is one of the best books I’ve ever read on product, product marketing and new companies, and I plan to read and re-read this notes time and time and time again. The book is so good, and I highlighted so many things and took so many notes, that I’m a bit worried about being able to summarise it. Here we go.

On change. I’m an innovator. If you’re reading this, you’re probably one, but “You’ll realize that your industry, your team, and your competitors don't like change — and society doesn't, either. Not even your customers”

Endure

Quote by Fred Wilson: “The two greatest addictions in life are heroin and a weekly salary”

Be aware of your weaknesses. “Actively seek out the negative trends as well as the positive, as your longevity over time will be determined by your weaknesses as much as your strengths”.

Friction brings us closer: “By avoiding conflict, we don't smooth out the rough edges of our

--

--

Carles Carrera

www.carlescarrera.com | Writing mostly about what I learn from books about investing, business, marketing and life in general.